Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's the purpose of that? Does it make the car look more luxurious?

But it's fake, it just tells people you're trying to be luxury but can't afford it and have to fake it.

Either use genuine wood or don't put anything at all is even better :rolleyes:

·
Registered
685 Posts
I completely Agree. Subaru, fortunately has been doing this since 2000. I am lucky enough to have sport models which have matte silver and black materials. One model is a full limited with all the leather and every option. Just no fake wood. But all the H6 at my trim levels got fake wood wheels and accents.

:confused:

I have been driving cars since 1984 legally. Real wood steering wheels on say a '67 Mustang or a Pecan Burl Dash on an old Austin, that makes sense. Real wood (like you said) on a modern Euro car vs this ... fake-plastic. Rolls, Bentley and the like.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I completely Agree. Subaru, fortunately has been doing this since 2000. I am lucky enough to have sport models which have matte silver and black materials. One model is a full limited with all the leather and every option. Just no fake wood. But all the H6 at my trim levels got fake wood wheels and accents.

:confused:

I have been driving cars since 1984 legally. Real wood steering wheels on say a '67 Mustang or a Pecan Burl Dash on an old Austin, that makes sense. Real wood (like you said) on a modern Euro car vs this ... fake-plastic. Rolls, Bentley and the like.
It looks like this brand's design department is still run by some old fart heads with inspirations from 30 years ago.

No wonder I often hear people saying Subaru's designs are uninspiring, boring, blend and even ugly.

If they can't design nicer looking cars, why don't they hire former good designers from other makes. Hyundai and Kia learned their lessons, and see what kind of designs they have today versus the past.

·