Subaru Ascent Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We recently purchased a 2020 Subaru Ascent Premium to tow an 3000 lb trailer. We had Subaru install the hitch. We couldn't get a good answer from the dealer and I have read older posts here regarding Weight Distribution hitches and anti-sway bars and understand these should not be used with the Ascent when towing but can anyone tell me what actual damage would occur if a device were used and torque occurred on the hitch? Does it ruin both the hitch and the frame? I would like to know why it is so strongly discouraged and what actual damage or safety issues would happen?

Thanks so much for anyone who can respond - obviously I am new at this and trying to understand so I can also explain to those who insist we use the anti-sway device.

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
Subaru did the design and testing for up to 5000 lb with 500lb tongue load with no anti sway or weight distribution and say that it meets their safety requirements. This includes structural strength, and dynamic behavior and stability. The Ascent does include an active anti sway system. They either did not test with a weight distribution hitch or sway system, or they did and found it didn't meet their safety requirements. Either way, they prohibit it.

If you choose to use a weight distributing hitch or sway bar you'd be doing the experiment and testing it yourself out on the road. Lot's of things could go wrong, either structurally or control wise. How likely would they be? IDK.

·
Administrator
10,206 Posts
On other vehicles, the damage has been cracked welds, or twisted frame components, or twisted unibody.

In the case of the Ascent, besides those possibilities, it also puts more weight on the front of the car, which isn't how the axles are rated.

·
Super Moderator
2019 Ascent Touring (CWP)
3,263 Posts
I would like to know why it is so strongly discouraged and what actual damage or safety issues would happen?