Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm the proud owner of a new Ascent Limited. I'm planning to tow a trailer with a GVWR of 3,800 lbs. I'm a towing newbie, so please forgive me if this is obvious.

As a new tower, I'm attracted to the idea of weight distributing, anti-sway hitches, like this Anderson (https://andersenhitches.com/Catalog/weight-distribution-kits.aspx).

If I understand correctly, I could pay Subaru ($499) to install the hitch receiver/wiring harness, and then insert the Anderson hitch (sadly, another $500-ish) into the dealer installed receiver. This gets me WD and anti-sway.

However, page 391 of the owner's manual states:

Use only the ball mount supplied
with this hitch. Use the hitch only
as a weight carrying hitch. Do not
use with any type of weight dis-
tributing hitch.

Why _not_ use a weight distributing hitch? Does the Subaru "main hitch member" (the part that holds the hitch receiver, and yes, I read the Ascent Hitch Installation Manual) have some weakness that precludes this?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Sandi

·
Registered
978 Posts
Subarus aren’t built for weight distributing hitches.

The trailer you choose often determines the anti sway device if it needs one.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. I do understand that they say not to use a weight distributing hitch, but I'd like to know why. Might you be able to explain the underlying reason, or perhaps point me in the direction of an explanation?

I've read other forums where Outback owners report using the Anderson hitch and loving it, which is what got me looking at them. WDH's seem like a good idea, and if there's something I can do to the Ascent to make this work, I'll happily do it.