Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've read through probably a half dozen or more previous posts already today, so sincerely thank everyone who's already contributed to my knowledge on the Ascent's towing capabilities. There's some very good information on here.

My wife and I are about to purchase a travel trailer as long as I can get myself comfortable with the Ascent being able to handle it. We are looking to do a pretty long road trip through the likes of CO, WY, UT, MT. Only towing for a day or two on the weekends and then sitting still during the weeks.

For reference, I have the 2020 Ascent Limited and got the Subaru standard hitch mount from the dealership. Rated for 5,000 lbs towing and 500 lb hitch weight. I have some towing experience, but limited to popups, boats, jet skis.

We are currently debating between two campers:

1. 3,730 lbs dry weight, 480 lbs hitch weight, 22 ft long
2. 4,124 lbs dry weight, 380 lbs hitch weight, 25 ft long

We were all set on option #1 but then started getting scared about pushing that 500 lb hitch weight, which I'm sure we'll do once we start loading cargo. The second option seems much safer on the hitch weight, and we could certainly monitor the cargo to keep it under 4,500 lbs or so. The heart of my question is really quite simple... which is safer for this vehicle? If we push the 500 lb hitch weight what is the real risk there? Obviously Subaru wouldn't cover any warranty if something were to happen and we were over their prescribed limits. And don't worry, I know not to get a weight distributing hitch! But I also worry that 4,500 lbs through the CO mountains might get a little treacherous at times.

The length difference also worries me a bit, but when we're already talking about 22 feet I can't imagine another 3 feet makes a tremendous difference.

Any and all thoughts welcome. Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
2019 Ascent Touring (CWP)
4,215 Posts