Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I haven't bought an Ascent yet but I am a subie driver and although I love their CVT's I do have a question about them. My 2015 Impreza and 2016 Forester both have CVT's and when put it into reverse the transmission responds by going quickly into reverse gear. However it's not the same when going into drive? When I go to drive from park or from neutral it takes some time before the transmission goes into gear. This is normal for my Impreza and Forester and was wondering is it's the same on the Ascents? Thanks

·
Registered
1,140 Posts
I have not experienced this. I know it takes a few moments for the transmission pump to get the hydraulics up to pressure. I usually start the car and then put on my seat belt, hook up my phone to apple play, let Waze know where I am going and then put it in gear. So I might wait too long to experience what you are talking about. My slight delay also lets engine oil get circulated about the engine.

·
Registered
2019 Ascent Limited
831 Posts
On a cold start, I usually let the engine run for maybe 10 seconds before backing out of the garage. Shifting into Drive after that seems to take about the same as any other automatic transmission I've had, pretty quick and usually accompanied by the usual CVT chirp.

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
This happens when the car is fully warmed up and sitting at a long street light I will put it into neutral while waiting. But if it turns green and I shift it into drive it takes like 3-4 seconds before it gets into gear. At which point people behind me are honking! I've owned hundreds of cars... was a car wholesaler in my early days and I've never seen such a long delay getting into drive except these subie's w/cvt's. Hence the question

·
Administrator
11,401 Posts