Subaru Ascent Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I only just heard about tow straps when seeing that they are required when driving on local beaches. I have no experience with them though and have a series of very n00b questions:
Is it better to get the nonstretchy 'tow straps' or the stretchy 'recovery straps/ropes'?
In what situations do u use this? stuck in snow?mud?sand? so like instead of getting out and pushing?
-if you're the one stuck - how do u attach them to the front or rear tow point on the Ascent? likewise if you're the one towing - do u attach them in the same way?
-if you have a hitch, does that change how you go about it?

Thanks!

·
Administrator
9,874 Posts
I only just heard about tow straps when seeing that they are required when driving on local beaches. I have no experience with them though and have a series of very n00b questions:
Is it better to get the nonstretchy 'tow straps' or the stretchy 'recovery straps/ropes'?
In what situations do u use this? stuck in snow?mud?sand? so like instead of getting out and pushing?
-if you're the one stuck - how do u attach them to the front or rear tow point on the Ascent? likewise if you're the one towing - do u attach them in the same way?

Thanks!
  • Stretchy, overly rated recovery straps are best (and most costly).
  • You have no tow hook point on the rear of an Ascent with a hitch. You need a hitch receiver based tow hook. I use this one. As I said, overly rated (30,000 pounds) to minimize the chance of it ever snapping.
  • The locking hitch pin on that Motormic kit will corrode in the weather - I use this one (in black, which isn't available any more - though I do have the chromed one as well) which has lasted really well.

It is a good idea to familiarize yourself with using such things by reading up on some off-roading sites.