Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Planning a trip to Utah for this summer. Our plan is to base out of Moab and explore Arches, Canyonlands and Capitol Reef parks. Getting around I'm planning on trying to take "scenic" routes as much as possible, but nothing crazy. Mostly gravel roads that actually show up on a higher res paper road map I bought.

The one notable trail I'd really like to do is the Shafer trail to get to Canyonlands from Moab. I'm open to other suggestions for trails as well, but please keep in mind that I'm a novice off roader (lots of gravel driving experience though) and I'll have my family with me.

My main question is would anyone consider skid plates to be a requirement for the Shafer trail and the other driving I'm describing? I'm on stock suspension with Falken Wildpeak A/T tires that match stock tire diameter. Thanks in advance.

·
Super Moderator
2019 Ascent Touring (CWP)
5,385 Posts
Skids are not a horrible idea even if they are not "required"...stuff gets thrown up while driving and there's even a greater chance of that on trails, than on the road.. Honestly, they aren't horrible for on-highway driving either, including in snowy conditions. There's a lot of "stuff" out there we are driving over and throwing around!

Reactions: Robert.Mauro

·
Administrator
12,146 Posts
Planning a trip to Utah for this summer. Our plan is to base out of Moab and explore Arches, Canyonlands and Capitol Reef parks. Getting around I'm planning on trying to take "scenic" routes as much as possible, but nothing crazy. Mostly gravel roads that actually show up on a higher res paper road map I bought.

The one notable trail I'd really like to do is the Shafer trail to get to Canyonlands from Moab. I'm open to other suggestions for trails as well, but please keep in mind that I'm a novice off roader (lots of gravel driving experience though) and I'll have my family with me.