Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took our 2020 Ascent to my regular mechanic for the 6000 mile oil change and tire rotation today. Normally this would be an uneventful trip and would be done. However, when he tells me "I want to show you something" it is never good. I have been using them for 30 years so I trust them. He raised the vehicle up on the lift and we walked under it. He pointed out numerous areas of oxidation and rust from front to back. Everywhere. The vehicle was built in December of 2019 and we bought it in February of this year. I was shocked at the rust and corrosion under there. They stated for a new car there should be nothing like that under the body. One of the guys thought it had been sitting in salt water. It was transported from a Pennsylvania dealer to my dealer here in Virginia but if one road trip on potential salty roads caused this, then there is a problem. My 10 year old Malibu that I traded in for this didn't have any rust under it. I know. I always crawled up under it to see once it had a few years on it.

I don't know what the dealer would do and am convinced that, had I taken it there this would not have been pointed out. At this point, I am ready to trade it on something else. I am very disappointed in the quality of the Ascent and don't plan to keep it and will look for a different brand.

My advice to all of you is to look under your vehicle and see if you see similar issues.

·
Registered
2020 CWP Touring
1,174 Posts
Thanks for the heads up. Can you give some more info on where the rust or oxidation areas are...or post some pictures so we can see if we have some of the same issues on ours?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the heads up. Can you give some more info on where the rust or oxidation areas are...or post some pictures so we can see if we have some of the same issues on ours?