Subaru Ascent Forum banner

Reducing Sway

6K views 22 replies 11 participants last post by  RonG 
#1 ·
I recently purchased a KZ Escape 231BH (based on a recommendation that someone made on one of these discussions) and towed it 1300 miles (from NY to FL). It was mostly empty, so the total weight was just over 4000 pounds, and the tongue weight was initially 400 pounds (due to having water in the tanks which are unfortunately behind the axles). I initially felt sway above 50 mph and found by moving my tools and hoses from the car to the front of the trailer, it greatly reduced the sway, but I still felt it. The tongue weight increased to 450 (11% of total weight) by this movement of supplies. I have been towing a 45-ft fifth wheel for 4 years, so towing a TT is new to me, and I am trying to learn what to expect and what is just not right. My knuckles were white for a good portion of my drive with the cruise control set at about 62 mph, and would like to find a more enjoyable driving experience. Note that I found the same amount of sway whether I drove at 55 mph or 62 mph. Compared to watching one driver almost lose his trailer with sway, mine was nothing close to this, but I did feel it constantly pulling a little left, right, left, etc. Over 65 was getting a bit too hairy, thus 62 seemed like the sweet spot.

I've read on the various discussions that WD hitches should not be used, and I am fine with this. I don't see anywhere in the owners manual that a sway control shouldn't be used. I've read many people mention that it shouldn't be used, but it seems more grouped with the WD/Sway hitch, vs only a sway bar. Some people have said that they can tow a 4500 pound trailer with no sway, with no sway bars, etc. So I'm trying to figure out what I am doing wrong; and whether I should try with a sway bar to see if it is any better, as we plan to travel for 6-weeks this summer, or is there something else that I'm missing?