Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know. Some of you may want to bang your head on a brick wall before talking again about this subject. I understand that it states quite plainly in the Ascent owner's manual that you should not use any type of weigh distributing hitch. I understand that the Trailer Stability Assist system in the Ascent uses a breaking algorithm to counter and minimize trail sway. And I've read the many, many knowledgeable posts from people like Robert Mauro and Kevin Williams on this subject and I want to thank you all for them. It's been really, really helpful for me as I am brand new to trailering.

If my research stopped with this forum I'd be fine and wouldn't question how to proceed but I've been in contact with a man that is pulling the same exact trailer I just purchased with a 2019 Ascent (His is the Touring - I own the Limited). He said when he took delivery in Nebraska and drove it to his home in Washington State he had serious issues with trailer sway. He said that he was unable to go faster than 50 mph on the highway because the trailer was so unstable. He then purchased a weight distributing hitch and described the difference like night and day. Now towing his trailer is perfectly stable with no trailer sway and he can travel at 65 mph with confidence.