Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there!

I’m considering purchasing an Ascent. It’ll be my first Subaru. I’m coming from a 2004 Toyota Highlander with 243k miles on the original transmission. I have had almost zero problems with this car - the blend door actuator broke and I replaced the master switch for the windows. Other than that, everything else was routine.

It’s between the Subaru and the 4Runner. I like the safety and price of the Subaru on the surface, but I worry about reliability.

I’m a dog trainer, and a smallish 5’1” woman. I travel alone (with dogs) all over the country, and the idea of the battery dying on me (even with a portable charger) in the middle of the night is pretty worrisome.

Question 1: if I get a manual lift gate, can I leave it open without the battery dying?

Question 2: can I just get a better battery if that doesn’t

Question : is there anything else I should be concerned about? I’m used to no car payment and not fixing a darn thing outside of routine stuff, so I’d be very unhappy to have a car payment and a bunch of issues.

Thank you!!

·
Registered
3,726 Posts
Hey there!

I’m considering purchasing an Ascent. It’ll be my first Subaru. I’m coming from a 2004 Toyota Highlander with 243k miles on the original transmission. I have had almost zero problems with this car - the blend door actuator broke and I replaced the master switch for the windows. Other than that, everything else was routine.

It’s between the Subaru and the 4Runner. I like the safety and price of the Subaru on the surface, but I worry about reliability.

I’m a dog trainer, and a smallish 5’1” woman. I travel alone (with dogs) all over the country, and the idea of the battery dying on me (even with a portable charger) in the middle of the night is pretty worrisome.

Question 1: if I get a manual lift gate, can I leave it open without the battery dying?