Subaru Ascent Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got orders for California next year, and now Im trying to sell the NC-CA travel to my wife. Im new in the States, (4 years) and I've seen Wrong Turn and the Val Kilmer movie. But, Im still attracted to the idea.

PROs and CONs for those who have tried it?

How many times do you think, will the A-beam panel fall off during this long drive? :D

Cheers.

·
Registered
684 Posts
Since that is less than 3,000 miles what is your concern?

We did a 8,400 mile trip last winter with a full load and 2 dogs that we started right after the break in period. We had zero problems with the Accent, still haven't had any at 16,000 miles.

Never had a rattle, squeek or leak.

We've done this trip many times but this time my wife did almost half of the driving, she usually does about 1/4. She loves driving the Subaru.

·
Registered
372 Posts
NoCal or SoCal? Watch the weather as you might want to drop down to I-40, or even I-10, if there is a winter storm hitting out west.

·
Registered
934 Posts
No problem driving cross country. It can be a lot of fun. I am generally on a mission to get to the end so I don't dawdle or sitesee, but most like to take a little time and enjoy things along the way (world's biggest ball of twine, etc.). I've done it a good number of times over the years in cars, trucks, and motorcycles. I've done it in private planes too, but that ain't drivin', per se. Just apply some common sense. My last XC trip was a Dec a year ago. As Q-Man13 pointed out, we detoured south around a big storm sweeping through CO, and NE at the the time. No problem though.

None of those trips were in an Ascent, or any Subaru for that matter. The Ascent would be nicer than any of those previous vehicles, if a bit slower than the planes.

·
Registered
2019 Ascent Touring (CWP)
2,127 Posts