Subaru Ascent Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

We're looking into getting a new vehicle (to tow the trailer) and a travel trailer. I've read lots on this forum so far, and learned a great deal, but want to be 110% before I make a large purchase such as this. The trailer we are looking at is the Jayco Jay Feather x17z with the following specs:

Dry Weight 3,296 lbs.
Payload Capacity 665 lbs.
GVWR 3,970 lbs.
Hitch Weight 375 lbs.

Would this be sufficient for an Ascent? The 2 vehicles we are cross shopping is the Ascent and VW Atlas.

I've already read about NOT getting a WDH. But an e-brake controller and sway controller IS allowed if I read it right.

We like this trailer because it's small, can fit 6 people (more like 2 adults and 2 kids). Usually it would only be 2 kids + 2 adults. And perhaps 2 other adults (not often).

Any suggestions? I'm still learning how to calculate tongue weight, about hitches and all that, so I hope I'm not gonna regret any decision.

Thanks for all the help! This is a great forum from what I've learned.

·
Registered
7 Posts
You’ll be fine towing this trailer, based on my experience. I tow a 178BHSK, which is heavier in all categories. I haven’t had any sway issues. The brake controller is crucial. I use a Curt Echo, which plugs from the vehicle into the trailer’s brake cord; it’s controlled by a Bluetooth-enabled app that has adjustable brake power and sensitivity. It’s worked flawlessly for me. The main concern/issue towing with an Ascent is the 500 pound tongue weight limit. However, by smartly loading the trailer, I’ve kept the tongue weight on my trailer (dry weight 430) to 450, as weighed by a Fastway hitch with built-in scale. Moral of the story: do your research and be sensible/level-headed about the Ascent’s limitations. As long as you do those things, it’s a surprisingly capable tow vehicle.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3