Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
edited to add option 3

Hi Everyone,

I've been reading as much as I can lately regarding the towing of the Ascent, and these forums have been great! I have a 2021 Touring with the OEM Hitch installed. Due to this forum, I know NOT to use any WDH/Sway devices - so I'm happy I checked before purchasing one with a new Travel Trailer. I'm new to both Towing and TT, and just trying to soak in as much information as I can.

I've been looking at two different models and I just wanted to get some advice to make sure which one would be better suited for the Ascent to tow. They both fall within the specs, but I'm just worried about the dry hitch weight on the 2nd option. I would like to stay within 80-85% of the specs just to have wiggle room. Also, I would not load anywhere near the max of option #1.

Option #1
Shasta 18BH
Hitch Weight:: 350 lb.
GVWR:: 5050 lb.
UVW: 3229 lb.
CCC: 1821 lb.
Exterior Length: 22' 6"
Exterior Height: 10' 6"
Exterior Width: 8'

Option #2
Escape E191BHK
Hitch Weight: 430
GVWR: 4,245
UVW : 3,350
CCC : 895
Exterior Length: 22'1"
Exterior Height: 10'
Exterior Width: 7.5'

Option #3
FSX 179DBK
Hitch weight: 465 (measured with full tank and battery)
GVWR: 4865
UVW: 3219
CCC: 1648
Length: 22'6"
Height: 10'2"
Width: 7.5'

As a note, I do not plan on filling any tanks before towing. I plan to only stay where there are full hookups available.

Also, I saw the Weigh Safe Tow Ball - Is this a good product? I want to make sure I watch my tongue weight and know if I need to move anything in the travel trailer.

As far as Brake Controllers go - any recommended brands/models to use? The dealer said about purchasing one, but didn't say which ones they carry - but if there are certain ones that are better, I'll see if they have it, or I'll buy it on my own.

Thank you in advance for your help!

·
Registered
2020 Ascent Touring
1,197 Posts