Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2021 Ascent Limited Abyss Blue Pearl
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just completed 3,600 mile round trip from Arizona to Minnesota, our third for the year. My wife is a teacher and we visit Minnesota on her breaks. With local driving while we are there, the trip usually puts on about 4K miles.

We're currently about 16,500 trouble free miles on our 2021 Ascent after purchasing about a year ago. I had the car in to the dealer to change the oil and do a safety check right before we left. Tires are doing well (still in the green) and the tech said that the brakes were "like new". I'm a pretty conservative driver I guess.

On this trip we averaged 27MPG on the way up and 26 on the way back. It was really windy in New Mexico on the way home probably accounting for the small difference. I think it's fair assessment that the Ascent is not a particularly aerodynamic 4,500 lbs. My average for the last 6K miles (the trip odometer clicks over at the 10K mark since it's only 5 digits, I've never actually reset B) is 25MPG.

I've come to truly appreciate Eyesight on long stretches of highway. It really allows me to relax my shoulders and focus on the road ahead without a lot of mid course corrections. We disable it in windy conditions and weather, mountains, heavy traffic, etc. But, in 3,600 miles there are lots of opportunities to use Eyesight. My wife doesn't like it as much because she prefers to lean left or right when passing a truck or being passed. Eyesight wants to track in the middle so they argue with each other a bit :) She doesn't use Eyesight as much as I do.