Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
561 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At times i do extended idling and was wondering if the turbo is active? Without having much turbo lag I was thinking it might be spinning even at idle....

·
Registered
685 Posts
Always spinning, yes. But then there's the wastegate, which eliminates boost/higher fuel consumption, no? I'm still learning about turbos...
The wastegate opens when the boost surpasses its setting. It's a valve an spring holding closed a bypass to the exhaust. So if you over-boost, the WG opens. There is a WG duty cycle you can view (well I can in RomRaider) it shows what % is necessary to keep it close.

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
The wastegate opens when the boost surpasses its setting. It's a valve an spring holding closed a bypass to the exhaust. So if you over-boost, the WG opens. There is a WG duty cycle you can view (well I can in RomRaider) it shows what % is necessary to keep it close.
Thanks! If I had just thought that through a little more... Duh.

So, when is there 0 boost at all, if ever?

·
Registered
213 Posts
I can tell you that Boost/vaccum at idle is around -10 according to torque app and doesnt show positive boost until about 10-12% throttle while driving.

·
Registered
23 Posts
So, when is there 0 boost at all, if ever?
At low RPMs, the turbo acts as an extra load on the engine as the exhaust gasses keep it spinning without producing extra pressure or power. As the RPMs climb, the vacuum reduces and then goes into boost where the increased pressure and power produces a net positive amount of power. Somewhere early in that rapid transition is a brief moment of “zero boost” where the turbo neither robs power away, nor does it produce extra power if compared to a naturally aspirated version of the identical engine. That point is roughly where the driver feels the turbo lag end and the rush of the turbo boost.

·
Registered
23 Posts