Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I’m totally new to the Ascent and Subaru’s in general. I’m confused about using the LKA feature. I’ve read many conflicting things. Should I use it only on a highway? What about while driving on local (suburban) roads? I’ve never had any steering assist before. TIA for any advice!

·
Registered
827 Posts
I keep mine “OFF” while driving locally and “ON” when driving long distance along with the adaptive cruise control.The first time experiencing the LKA in action kind of caught me off guard,didn’t like the “jerk back” feeling (especially on curves) when I first got the vehicle.After reading the manual I’m glad to see it was all normal operation.This was before I joined the forum for which I’ve learned is very helpful and can save you alot of headaches.

·
Registered
567 Posts
The manual is VERY specific on this - pretty much Interstates only - or highways with similar traffic. Be sure to turn it off if the white lines are messed up, construction zones, etc. And, of course, if there is snow on the road, it can't "see the lines"

There is a reason why it's located in a spot surrounded by cruise control buttons only.

·
Registered
777 Posts
I do keep it on all the time, I figure ultimately, it's probably safer to have it on than off on most roads.

It bothered me for the first few weeks, especially around curves on the highway, but I am used to it now. The system in my Lincoln is much less intrusive, but still performs the same task.

·
Registered
920 Posts
I keep mine on all the time. It works on city streets just as well and can be just as important. Changing a station and wander over a bit, it'll "tap" you back into place.