Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 139 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I love my new Ascent. The HK sound system...not so much. Granted I'm a musician/audiophile so picky about sound, but I find this system to be harsh in the high end. Messing with the EQ only helps a little. Has anyone done upgrades to this sound system? New speakers? I would love some input on this topic before I head over to the local car stereo place...

·
Registered
1,312 Posts
I love my new Ascent. The HK sound system...not so much. Granted I'm a musician/audiophile so picky about sound, but I find this system to be harsh in the high end. Messing with the EQ only helps a little. Has anyone done upgrades to this sound system? New speakers? I would love some input on this topic before I head over to the local car stereo place...
Agreed, the sound is too harsh in the high end. The problem could probably be mitigated with a proper equalizer which Subaru has inexplicably not provided in their premium sound package. Even low-cost aftermarket car audio systems usually include an equalizer. The lack of one seriously and unnecessarily degrades the Harman Kardon system in the Ascent. Equalizers these days are software based. With an upgrade, Subaru can add one.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Well, I don't have anything to add but I'm glad my wife is not too picky about sound quality :lol:

To be honest, we never listened to the radio in any car we test drove. That said, since I'm more into audio fidelity than my wife I'd be interested to hear if anybody has anything meaningful to add to this thread. :nerd:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I asked about the Rockford Fosgate upgrade sound system when I bought the car. The dealer said I could not get this option since I had a Limited model with the HK premium system. I am questioning that a little bit....