Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm starting to put a toolkit together for the Ascent to have with us on our overlanding trips. For those of you who work on your vehicles, are there any recommendations you have for starting out?

So far I'm thinking:
Breaker Bar
Torque Wrench
Socket Wrench set
Ratchet Wrench set
Pliers
Zip ties

Does anyone know if I should carry metric or SAE sets for the Ascent? Or are there any brands of these tools you'd recommend? I have a ton of woodworking tools, but I'm only getting started in the automotive space.

Thanks!

·
Administrator
11,126 Posts
Metric. For an in car set, I generally carry Kobalt or similar, since it's pretty much emergency use and I won't need it often or ever.

·
Administrator
11,126 Posts
Oh, I do use a Stanley 6 point lug nut socket, since I don't want to strip anything or crack a cheap socket. Harbor Freight's sockets looked decent too, but, I haven't tried them. That and a breaker bar go a long way on the highway, over the included lug nut wrench.

Size is 19mm.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Duct tape...of course! This is a great list.

I'm having air compressor analysis paralysis, though. :rolleyes: I currently have a $40 air compressor that I thought was awesome...until I started looking into off-roading. I'm stuck on ARB vs. Viair. And what capacity. And onboard vs. portable. Sigh.

·
Registered
2020 Ascent Touring
1,197 Posts

I'm having air compressor analysis paralysis, though. :rolleyes: I currently have a $40 air compressor that I thought was awesome...until I started looking into off-roading. I'm stuck on ARB vs. Viair. And what capacity. And onboard vs. portable. Sigh.
If you have consumer reports online access they tested portable tire inflators:

Here's the one they liked best:
Product Automotive wheel system Vehicle Wheel

·
Registered
1,126 Posts