Subaru Ascent Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to this whole game. After much research, I have decided to combine my Subaru Ascent Limited with a Forest River RPod (190) but I get such mixed reviews. Is there anyone here who has that combo (or any RPod combo with this vehicle, and what is your experience with how it tows? I get a lot of negative feedback, but so far it is only people who do not have that combo, so I really wanted to get real life experience from someone who has the combo and has done some trips.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
Hi,

I'm new to this whole game. After much research, I have decided to combine my Subaru Ascent Limited with a Forest River RPod (190) but I get such mixed reviews. Is there anyone here who has that combo (or any RPod combo with this vehicle, and what is your experience with how it tows? I get a lot of negative feedback, but so far it is only people who do not have that combo, so I really wanted to get real life experience from someone who has the combo and has done some trips.

Thanks
What kind of negative feedback are you getting?

The RP-190 has a dry hitch weight of 390 lbs and a UVW of only 2979 lbs. This should be fine for the Ascent even when loaded. If you like the trailer, I don't see any issues.

·
Registered
935 Posts
I have no experience with that specific trailer, but I've never run into enigmatic trailer towing issues. If the trailer's fully loaded weight and tongue weight are comfortably within the tow vehicle's limits, and the tongue weight is also 10-15% of the loaded trailer weight, it tows fine. Trailers with larger frontal area will usually get worse mileage due to increased wind resistance. Trailers with more side area will be more susceptible to cross winds and wakes from passing trucks. These normally are easy to handle while driving, but if too unsettling, you can slow down, or stop and wait out unusually high crosswinds.

·
Registered
3 Posts