Subaru Ascent Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
750 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I am new to Subaru and CVTs, I do not have an idea of how often to change the CVT fluid. The manual says to inspect the CVT fluid at 30K and does not give a replacement schedule. I live in the hot south Houston area and have ~26K on the Ascent already. Some of you long time Subaru owners should know when to change the CVT fluid. So when do you plan to change the fluid on the CVT?

·
Registered
78 Posts
Since I am new to Subaru and CVTs, I do not have an idea of how often to change the CVT fluid. The manual says to inspect the CVT fluid at 30K and does not give a replacement schedule. I live in the hot south Houston area and have ~26K on the Ascent already. Some of you long time Subaru owners should know when to change the CVT fluid. So when do you plan to change the fluid on the CVT?

·
Registered
78 Posts
I have a Gen 4 Outback and at around 50K the dealer had a big discount on service work so I let them do a CVT fluid drain and fill. I had intended to replace it around 60K anyway. This was for my own peace of mind, and I intend to keep the car to 100K or maybe longer. IIRC this listed for $350 or so and most of that is for the fluid. I will say the CVT felt like almost like a new unit afterwards.
I know the manual does not list a fluid replacement interval, but I see no harm in doing so. However I consider it a proprietary service and I'd only let a Subaru dealer do it. If you can get it done there as an ala carte service item for a fair price, and trust the shop (talk to a mechanic there, not just the service writer, to find out what they are going to do) , and if you intend to keep the car for a longer time, I'd get it done.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Here's a good video talking about the CVT service intervals. This guy actually has a lot of very good videos that cover a lot of things.

·
Super Moderator
7,403 Posts