Subaru Ascent Forum banner

CPST-I

3K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  kalfolh 
#1 ·
Hi!

I know I'm new to this forum, so introducing another side of myself. I've been a child passenger safety technician for many years, and an instructor since 2016. I'm always happy to answer any questions about car seats (in the Ascent or ANY vehicle, really)!

As an instructor I also have a handful of training car seats accessible, so if anyone ever has a question about what might or might not fit in a position, please don't hesitate to comment or reach out and I will be happy to try and test set ups to see if something works. If I don't personally have it on hand, I'm pretty close to another instructor with a HUGE collection and can try just about any combination within about a week (my work schedule is... spicy 😂)

#2 ·
Appreciate having you as a resource, I'm sure there are a lot of Ascent parents who will have questions. I'm pretty set in the carseat world (we've got a 3 yr old), but I do have one question that may sound kind of silly. When tightening the carseat in place, the only way I've ever been able to get it tight enough is to place a knee on the carseat and bounce my weight on the carseat and tighten when the carseat is at its low point when I squish it down. This works great except for one thing, my knees are old and tired, and occasionally this ends up hurting the poor knee I use for this maneuver. Any suggestions for getting the seat tight enough without abusing my poor knee? And if anyone else reading this has a great suggestion, please add your 2 cents as well.
Thanks!

#3 ·
Yes! So, using a knee isn't recommended anymore due to some folks damaging car seats (since most of us adults are a hair over the weight limit of most car seats).