Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We picked up our CWP Touring back in July and currently have less than 3,000 miles on it! So, this thing is still pretty new. However...

Awhile back, we took a road trip out of town for friend's wedding. The next morning, as I was loading up for the trip home, I noticed a "fun" surprise on our lift gate.

Someone left a serious scratch -- not sure if this was an accident or just some jerk, but it cut the car (and my heart) deep. There are a few tiny spots where it goes right down to the metal and they even nicked the chrome "AWD" badge!

We talked to the hotel and they don't have any camera footage.

I've never tried to repair something like this before and am wondering about the best way to approach this.

It looks like these guys sell touch up paint, but anything I should consider before digging into this?

2019 Subaru Ascent Colors of Touch Up Paint

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
2,586 Posts
Your scratch looks much deeper than the carwash brush scratches I just had buffed out. I feel your pain.
Touch up paint won’t look as good as it was, but will protect the metal from rusting if it’s exposed. If any of the scratch is just in the clear coat it should buff out nicely. Best of luck getting it fixed

·
Registered
40 Posts
Check your insurance company too.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Reputable body shop. It is too new for you to let this go. Fix it right now, and it will be good for the life of the car. Let it go and it will be a constant reminder of how you failed your Subie. A stich in time....

·
Registered
225 Posts
We picked up our CWP Touring back in July and currently have less than 3,000 miles on it! So, this thing is still pretty new. However...

Awhile back, we took a road trip out of town for friend's wedding. The next morning, as I was loading up for the trip home, I noticed a "fun" surprise on our lift gate.