Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I am an aggressive driver. I don't have patience for people driving slowly in the left lane, 2 cars driving side by side not allowing passing, people not stepping on it from traffic lights, entering/merging onto the freeways at like 40, etc! I want to get where I want to get safely but expeditiously.

Well all that is freaking changing now!

I am living off of ACC. I am just a couple of roadtrips into my new car and I am using it for almost everything, haha. I....LOVE...IT!!!! But, I find myself being complacent. I turn on ACC and just monitor life while listening to the radio and remaining calm and sedate in whatever lane that I happen to be in. Traffic? No problem. Slow people? Car slows down for them. I think that this car is prematurely aging me!!! I don't know what to do about this. Should I embrace my new relaxed and happy lifestyle?!?

That and SiriusXM is adding to problem by giving me comedy channels which chew up entire trips without me noticing.

Sheesh. If don't maintain my angry edge I am going to have to adopt a whole new personality!

·
Registered
927 Posts
ACC is great when the road isn't open and "safe" for aggressive driving.

When the road opens up or on the back country roads I take control and have fun (love the torquey engine). Twisty mountain road and loads of torque == FUN!

I love that I can have the best of both worlds!

·
Registered
107 Posts
Don't give up yet! Maybe Subaru will give some options for ACC.

Something like:

Level 1: "Kids in the Car" - Conservative setting. Large following distances with gentle, subtle speed changes
Level 2: "Get Out of My Way" - Shortened following distances. 'Auto-honk' when above average levels of stupidity are detected. Speed changes are more aggressive
Level 3: "The Perfect Storm" - Nobody/Nothing is exempt from the Ascent's wrath!

·
Registered
927 Posts
It pretty much does.