Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got an email from Subaru, saying to update the head unit and follow the instructions in the email. I'm an IT professional, so I understand everything they explain.

When connected to our home WiFi (plenty of signal, speed tests from inside the car on other devices like phone or laptop are great with low latency), the car reports no updates.

I don't have the versions right here with me, but, the version that the email/PDF had, and the version in our car, show it definitely needs updating. (Took delivery of car back in Sept I think).

So, followed the further instructions in the PDF to create an account on the website, to add the vehicle, and then to follow the instructions to download/create USB install. When I add the car by VIN number, I get an error:

The configuration of your vehicle in the Portal is not complete.
Please contact your retailer/dealer.

When I then run the software on my computer, and login, it's got the car, but gives the same error.

I contacted my sales rep, as he wants hands on personal service with our car. They are an awesome dealership, I've dealt with many, and they are the best we've ever worked with.

His response was basically, "let the dealer do it". I won't give the full details of the response, but, he's indicating you can brick the head unit, it doesn't work well, and let the dealer do it. They're not trying to get $$, I'm not worried about that.

It just seems to me like there's some switch or something they've not flipped to "activate" the car or something in whatever portal this is.

I'm not trying to be a pain, but, Subaru wants to distribute the updates through the owners, and while I'm sure there are occasional problems, I look here and see a bunch of y'all updating.