Subaru Ascent Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The inverter was one of the features from the Touring I really wanted... but I got a 2019 limited so it was just a blank out panel. Kids got laptops for school due to Covid so now we're sometimes pulling Watts to cover 3 charging laptops on road trips between mom and the kids. Seems the subaru inverter might not have covered it anyhow. so I've been planning a while and checking wiring ideas from other projects in the forum and finally put it all together before we start into holiday trips. Below is the 200W Pure Sine inverter install I just completed.

Feedback requested if anything I did here seems like a bad idea... Following anything I did is at your own risk. I'm no pro.

Parts list below, a few install pictures, followed by finished product pictures. Further install comments along the way.

Inverter
-Selected for quality power & wattage that is safely within 20W.
-20W is the largest fuse currently in the fuse panel under the steering wheel (the "cigar" circuit), I don't commonly use the 12V ports so that amperage is mostly unused

Remote switch for the inverter
-By default the inverter is off all the time until unless I power it up by pushing this button after turning on the car.

110v Outlet
15A Weatherproof Outdoor Power Outlet by Journeyman-Pro 15 Amp 125 Volt NEMA 5-15R Receptacle Kit with Integrated 20" Extension Cord + Waterproof Rubber Cover (GCR1-BLACK) - - Amazon.com
-Slight modification of the opening in the console to a 1.75" circle

Fusetap
Amazon.com: General Technologies GTC062 GTC06X Fuse Socket Connector Kit: Automotive
-standard piggyback fuse taps could only be found in 14AWG or 16AWG while the rest of the wiring was to be 10AWG
-this tap allowed for a direct wire connection and inline fuse
-Plugged into position 7 to power up only when the vehicle is ON

10AWG Wire
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ABOPO2S